Brain Brobbey, Joey Veerman, Kenneth Taylor and Pascal Struijk included in provisional Netherlands squad

Brain Brobbey, Joey Veerman, Kenneth Taylor, Pascal Struijk and Andries Noppert have been included in the provisional Netherlands squad for the first time.

Louis van Gaal’s provisional selection for the Nations League matches against Poland and Belgium was announced this morning, and featured a number of new names.

Ajax’s Brobbey and Taylor and PSV’s Veerman have all impressed in the first matches of the new Eredivisie season and have been rewarded with a call-up, as has Heerenveen goalkeeper Noppert.

Struijk meanwhile has performed well in the Premier League for Leeds, starting every match, and comes in in place of Jordan Teze, who has been dropped.

So too have Guus Til and Jerdy Schouten, while Noa Lang, Arnaut Danjuma, Donyell Malen and Luuk de Jong have all missed out through injury.

There’s much disappointment in the fact that Xavi Simons, the start of the Eredivisie season thus far, has only been selected for the U21s team, but with the final squad being announced in two weeks, there’s still a chance he’ll be included in it.


More European Football News